Author Topic: Kentucky state route map error  (Read 2536 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline osu-lsu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Last Login:June 17, 2019, 07:40:46 pm
Kentucky state route map error
« on: September 14, 2018, 09:36:55 am »
Maybe its just me, but when I attempt to view the map with entire Kentucky route system (state, US, and Interstate), my web browser wheel spins, but no images come up.
I don't want to have to go to the HB table for this state to track down routes I need to add/edit, if I can help it.

Offline Jim

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1446
  • Last Login:Yesterday at 10:55:54 pm
Re: Kentucky state route map error
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2018, 09:59:35 am »
Maybe its just me, but when I attempt to view the map with entire Kentucky route system (state, US, and Interstate), my web browser wheel spins, but no images come up.
I don't want to have to go to the HB table for this state to track down routes I need to add/edit, if I can help it.

That's a very memory intensive map to bring up.  It really depends on having a browser with lots of memory available to it, and some good hardware graphics acceleration for the Leaflet maps to use.

Offline michih

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1556
  • Gender: Male
  • Last Login:Yesterday at 12:49:19 pm
Re: Kentucky state route map error
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2018, 02:33:45 pm »
However, mapview is real muuuuuuch slower than before the last Modifikation - After moving to leaflet when it was faster than before.

The modification had less benefit but a big disadvantage in loading time IMO.

Offline Jim

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1446
  • Last Login:Yesterday at 10:55:54 pm
Re: Kentucky state route map error
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2018, 08:35:09 pm »
However, mapview is real muuuuuuch slower than before the last Modifikation - After moving to leaflet when it was faster than before.

The modification had less benefit but a big disadvantage in loading time IMO.

Do you mean the change to avoid drawing the segments on top of each other?

Offline michih

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1556
  • Gender: Male
  • Last Login:Yesterday at 12:49:19 pm
Re: Kentucky state route map error
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2018, 04:32:44 pm »
No, it was another change but I don't remember what exactly. It's something I don't use / need. If I remember correct, mapcat was happy about the feature...

Offline Jim

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1446
  • Last Login:Yesterday at 10:55:54 pm
Re: Kentucky state route map error
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2018, 09:25:35 pm »
No, it was another change but I don't remember what exactly. It's something I don't use / need. If I remember correct, mapcat was happy about the feature...

Hmm, I'm not seeing anything significant in the GitHub history for the last few months since the "draw the polylines only once" feature went live in early July.

Offline michih

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1556
  • Gender: Male
  • Last Login:Yesterday at 12:49:19 pm
Re: Kentucky state route map error
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2018, 09:17:07 am »
I'll try to figure it out when I'm back home from traveling.

Offline Jim

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1446
  • Last Login:Yesterday at 10:55:54 pm
Re: Kentucky state route map error
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2018, 09:37:35 am »
Thanks.  Maybe there will be something I can make optional to speed things up.

Offline michih

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1556
  • Gender: Male
  • Last Login:Yesterday at 12:49:19 pm
Re: Kentucky state route map error
« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2018, 09:46:10 am »
Maybe mapcat or anyone else remembers earlier. I think it was something with routes which belong together (not concurrencies drawing).

Offline mapcat

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 818
  • Last Login:Yesterday at 11:29:48 pm
Re: Kentucky state route map error
« Reply #9 on: September 16, 2018, 12:39:42 pm »
Maybe mapcat or anyone else remembers earlier. I think it was something with routes which belong together (not concurrencies drawing).
Sorting routes by .csv order?
Clinched:

Offline michih

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1556
  • Gender: Male
  • Last Login:Yesterday at 12:49:19 pm
Re: Kentucky state route map error
« Reply #10 on: September 16, 2018, 02:45:40 pm »
Yep, I think that's it (but not 100% sure). I just remember that when it went live, mapview was much slower. I didn't want to be the one complaining........

Offline Jim

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1446
  • Last Login:Yesterday at 10:55:54 pm
Re: Kentucky state route map error
« Reply #11 on: September 16, 2018, 02:59:57 pm »
Yes, that could be it.  I'll have to remind myself what that was all about and see if the changes can easily be made optional maybe through a QS parameter.

Offline michih

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1556
  • Gender: Male
  • Last Login:Yesterday at 12:49:19 pm
Re: Kentucky state route map error
« Reply #12 on: September 16, 2018, 03:01:07 pm »
Would be great :)

Offline osu-lsu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Last Login:June 17, 2019, 07:40:46 pm
Re: Kentucky state route map error
« Reply #13 on: September 16, 2018, 10:40:51 pm »
For me, as a comparison, I will (eventually) get a map for all of Texas's routes, and there are more miles in Texas than Kentucky.
If I try to upload just state routes for Kentucky (instead of interstates/Parkways/US/States combined) it does not load for me.

Don't know if that means anything for any of you.

Offline mapcat

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 818
  • Last Login:Yesterday at 11:29:48 pm
Re: Kentucky state route map error
« Reply #14 on: September 16, 2018, 10:49:29 pm »
The number of segments probably means more than total miles for rendering time.
Clinched: