Travel Mapping

Highway Data Discussion => Updates to Highway Data => Topic started by: Highway63 on February 22, 2019, 02:48:05 am

Title: WY: Grand Loop Road
Post by: Highway63 on February 22, 2019, 02:48:05 am
Either I did something wrong or this is a bug of sorts.

I re-entered (or actually changed the route name in my log) for Grand Loop Road around Yellowstone Park. On our 2000 vacation, we came in from the east side and went counterclockwise to Montana, then hit the southwest part of the loop to leave through Teton.

But when I plugged the line in as "EEntRd SEntRd", the route was filled in only in the SOUTHEAST quadrant - i.e. the very segment NOT traveled!

I think the issue is that the "loop" starts at the north entrance. Does that mean, to make it run correctly, I need a double entry with one line being "NEntRd_E EEntRd" and the other to read "NEntRd_W SEntRd"?
Title: Re: WY: Grand Loop Road
Post by: si404 on February 22, 2019, 04:16:30 am
I need a double entry with one line being "NEntRd_E EEntRd" and the other to read "NEntRd_W SEntRd"?
yes
Title: Re: WY: Grand Loop Road
Post by: Jim on February 22, 2019, 08:11:54 am
It's a general issue with all loop routes the way we specify them in the system and in .list files.  It can be annoying, but we haven't come up with a better way, given that we want to allow segments to be specified in .list file in either direction.