Author Topic: HEADS UP: Configuration of https  (Read 1071 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline michih

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2792
  • Last Login:September 16, 2020, 02:44:31 pm
Re: HEADS UP: Configuration of https
« Reply #15 on: June 17, 2020, 02:03:23 pm »
I don't request that you should do anything. We don't know what happens, so what should be changed?

I just report about it because I hope that I'm not the only one and maybe anyone else has an idea what could cause it. The behavior appeared quite suddently....

Offline rickmastfan67

  • TM Collaborator (A)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 902
  • Gender: Male
  • Last Login:Today at 12:34:23 pm
Re: HEADS UP: Configuration of https
« Reply #16 on: June 18, 2020, 02:59:08 am »
michih, have you tried to clean out all of your cookies in the browser and then relogin and see if that fixes it?  I don't seem to have the issues you're talking about.

Offline michih

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2792
  • Last Login:September 16, 2020, 02:44:31 pm
Re: HEADS UP: Configuration of https
« Reply #17 on: June 18, 2020, 07:43:43 am »
michih, have you tried to clean out all of your cookies in the browser and then relogin and see if that fixes it?  I don't seem to have the issues you're talking about.

no, doesn't work. I've closed FF and opened it again. I use private mode, all cookies etc. are automatically cleared on closing.

I think that it only happens when I've posted anything on the board. But not always...... And the problem disappears after a while (time depending?)

Offline michih

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2792
  • Last Login:September 16, 2020, 02:44:31 pm
Re: HEADS UP: Configuration of https
« Reply #18 on: June 18, 2020, 07:45:17 am »
This time it was fine after leaving the board. Then I opened it again, back to main page, and the "unread posts icon" appeared again.

edit: The behavior of the first page after leaving the thread where I've posted anything is fine. It can be the board overview or the forum main page. The second page call is incorrect.

thread -> board overview -> main page
thread -> main page -> board overview
thread -> main page -> other board -> main page
« Last Edit: June 18, 2020, 07:47:54 am by michih »

Online Jim

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1896
  • Last Login:Today at 11:13:05 pm
Re: HEADS UP: Configuration of https
« Reply #19 on: June 18, 2020, 07:59:37 am »
Maybe a problem with timestamps?  It looks like TM's server is right on.  Is your computer's clock accurate and the time zone info correct?

Offline michih

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2792
  • Last Login:September 16, 2020, 02:44:31 pm
Re: HEADS UP: Configuration of https
« Reply #20 on: June 18, 2020, 12:13:30 pm »
Nothing has changed about time on my end. Last sync was last night.

Offline SSOWorld

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Last Login:Today at 04:25:50 am
Re: HEADS UP: Configuration of https
« Reply #21 on: June 22, 2020, 04:53:42 am »


The url has "Not Secure" in it because there are elements (images?, styles?) that are still linked with "http://".  Most likely in posts.
Completed:
* Systems: WI
* by US State: AR: I; AZ: I; DE: I; IA: I, KS: I; MN: I; MA: I; MO: I; NE: I; RI: I; SD: I; WA: I; WI: I,US,WI;

Offline rickmastfan67

  • TM Collaborator (A)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 902
  • Gender: Male
  • Last Login:Today at 12:34:23 pm
Re: HEADS UP: Configuration of https
« Reply #22 on: June 22, 2020, 05:48:28 am »


The url has "Not Secure" in it because there are elements (images?, styles?) that are still linked with "http://".  Most likely in posts.

Try your avatar (since only yours on this page is hosted off-site). ;)  It's on http, not https. ;)
« Last Edit: June 22, 2020, 05:50:30 am by rickmastfan67 »

Offline SSOWorld

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Last Login:Today at 04:25:50 am
Re: HEADS UP: Configuration of https
« Reply #23 on: June 23, 2020, 05:21:48 am »
alas you're right.  However I couldn't load it with "https://" - message resulting was "Call to undefined function "dl()"

Same was true for uploading an avatar. 

This (my guess) is more due to my image's format or size - I tried as small as 100x100 px.

So - No avatar for now. and the "padlock" returns.
Completed:
* Systems: WI
* by US State: AR: I; AZ: I; DE: I; IA: I, KS: I; MN: I; MA: I; MO: I; NE: I; RI: I; SD: I; WA: I; WI: I,US,WI;

Offline rickmastfan67

  • TM Collaborator (A)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 902
  • Gender: Male
  • Last Login:Today at 12:34:23 pm
Re: HEADS UP: Configuration of https
« Reply #24 on: June 23, 2020, 06:00:52 am »
The limit was set at 80x80.  However, I've just upped it to 100x100.

Offline yakra

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2818
  • Last Login:Today at 10:47:31 pm
Re: HEADS UP: Configuration of https
« Reply #25 on: June 23, 2020, 02:52:29 pm »
I haven't updated the Web/ software on my mirror in a long time, other than to test out improvements I've worked on.
To get full functionality (other than location) with the newest revisions, would I need to upgrade lab2 to https as well?

Online Jim

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1896
  • Last Login:Today at 11:13:05 pm
Re: HEADS UP: Configuration of https
« Reply #26 on: June 23, 2020, 02:59:01 pm »
I haven't updated the Web/ software on my mirror in a long time, other than to test out improvements I've worked on.
To get full functionality (other than location) with the newest revisions, would I need to upgrade lab2 to https as well?

I don't believe so.  The only changes I made to make things work with https involved replacing lots of http:// links with https:// links since an https:// page will refuse load anything through an http:// link.  The other way around, loading something through https:// on an http:// page, shouldn't be a problem.

Offline SSOWorld

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Last Login:Today at 04:25:50 am
Re: HEADS UP: Configuration of https
« Reply #27 on: June 23, 2020, 10:40:16 pm »
The limit was set at 80x80.  However, I've just upped it to 100x100.
Tried 100x100, 90x90 and 80x80, got the same error as before. 
Completed:
* Systems: WI
* by US State: AR: I; AZ: I; DE: I; IA: I, KS: I; MN: I; MA: I; MO: I; NE: I; RI: I; SD: I; WA: I; WI: I,US,WI;

Offline rickmastfan67

  • TM Collaborator (A)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 902
  • Gender: Male
  • Last Login:Today at 12:34:23 pm
Re: HEADS UP: Configuration of https
« Reply #28 on: June 24, 2020, 12:34:06 am »
The limit was set at 80x80.  However, I've just upped it to 100x100.
Tried 100x100, 90x90 and 80x80, got the same error as before.

What format is it?  You can link the image to me (via URL) in a PM and I could try to add it for you.

Offline michih

  • TM Collaborator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2792
  • Last Login:September 16, 2020, 02:44:31 pm
Re: HEADS UP: Configuration of https
« Reply #29 on: June 26, 2020, 04:24:20 pm »
I just want to say that the issue reported upthread has gone with the forum software update :)